Taro week – adventures with a tuber.

harvest and yarn

It’s taro week!

No, not officially. You won’t find it printed in your diaries or yearly planners. I have declared it taro week because I have been saving up some stories about my adventures with taro.

So what even is taro? I know, right. That’s what I asked too, when I was offered some taro to cook with:

Do you want some taro?
What for?
For using.
What even is taro?
It’s a tuber.
Right…
So do you want some taro?
I don’t know.
Okay, no then.

Hey I know you said you didn’t want taro, but are you sure? I can get you some from somewhere else…

Okay. I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

So here we go. Taro is native to southeast Asia, and is a starchy root vegetable, which also has edible foliage. Not raw though. It’s toxic raw. Turned off yet? Stay with me.
It…

View original post 459 more words

Leave a Reply

